Area Chairs

Current PopCAANZ area chairs are:

Biography and Life Writing: Rachel Franks: biography@popcaanz.com

Business: Vicki Karaminas: business@popcaanz.com

Celebrity Studies: Alex Bevan: celebritystudies@popcaanz.com

Comics, Manga and Anime: Paul Mountfort: comics@popcaanz.com

Creative Writing: Karen Simpson Nikakis: writing@popcaanz.com

Curating: Heather Gailbraith: curating@popcaanz.com

Design: Peter Gilderdale: design@popcaanz.com

Disability: Kimberley McMahon-Coleman: disability@popcaanz.com

Entertainment: Tanya Nitins: entertainment@popcaanz.com

Electronic Ecologies: Ryszard Dabek: e-ecologies@popcaanz.com

Fandom: Katherine Larsen: fandom@popcaanz.com

Fashion: Vicki Karaminas: fashion@popcaanz.com
                Justine Taylor: fashion@popcaanz.com

Fiction: Rachel Franks: fiction@popcaanz.com

Film: Daniel Binns: film@popcaanz.com

Food: Jill Adams food@popcaanz.com

Gender and Queer: Anita Brady: gender@popcaanz.com

Girlhood Studies: Juliette Peers: girlhood@popcaanz.com

Gothic and Horror: Lorna Piatti-Farnell: gothic@popcaanz.com

History: Bronwyn Labrum: history@popcaanz.com

Indigenous: Jakelin Troy: jakelin.troy@sydney.edu.au

Journalism: Sue Green: journalism@popcaanz.com

Law: Jason Bainbridge: law@popcaanz.com

Museum Studies: Lyn Hicks: museumstudies@popcaanz.com

Performance: Sue Osmond: performance@popcaanz.com

Popular Romance: Jodi McAlister: popularomance@popcaanz.com

Race and Whiteness Studies: Holly Randell-Moon: raceandwhitestudies@popcaanz.com

Radio and Audio Media: Martin Hadlow: radio@popcaanz.com

Religion: Holly Randell-Moon: religion@popcaanz.com

Science: Steven Gil: science@popcaanz.com

Spatial Arts: Julieanna Preston: spatial@popcaanz.com

Subcultures: Kathryn Hardy Bernal: subcultures@popcaanz.com

Television: Rosser Johnson: tv@popcaanz.com

Textiles: Vishna Collins: textiles@popcaanz.com

Toys and Games: Jason Bainbridge: toys@popcaanz.com

Visual Arts: Adam Geczy: visualarts@popcaanz.com

The area chairs are responsible for:

  • - Distributing CFPs, gathering abstracts, organising panels, round tables or special discussion sessions.
  • - Organising & briefing the panel chairs – area chairs do NOT have to chair each panel.
  • - Providing Pres/Vice-Pres with any information about books, journals, etc.
  • - Providing any materials you think should be included in the conference satchels (e.g. flyers).
  • - Keeping in touch with delegates re: their questions about accommodation, payments,  a/v requirements, panel times, etc. and relay back to Pres/Vice-Pres any problems.
  • - Fielding media enquiries – letting Pres./Vice-Pres. know if any paper looks particularly promising for the press release.
  • - Holding an area meeting.
  • - Soliciting for articles for publication.
  • - Organising referees for articles.
  • - Organising book and exhibition reviews for journal.

If you are interested in becoming a PopCAANZ area chair, please contact PopCAANZ President Vicki Karaminas: president@popcaanz.com.