PopCAANZ 2015: Extended Call for Papers

The Popular Culture Association of Australia and New Zealand (PopCAANZ) is calling for the submission of abstracts for its 6th Annual Conference in Wellington, New Zealand, 29 June-1 July 2015.

The Popular Culture Association of Australia and New Zealand (PopCAANZ) is devoted to the scholarly understanding of everyday cultures. It is concerned with the study of the social practices and the cultural meanings that are produced and are circulated through the processes and practices of everyday life. As a product of consumption, an intellectual object of inquiry, and as an integral component of the dynamic forces that shape societies.

We invite academics, professionals, cultural practitioners and those with a scholarly interest in popular culture, to send a 150 word abstract and 100 word bio by March 31, 2015, to the area chairs listed below.

Animation: Deborah Szapiro: animation@popcaanz.com

Biography and Life Writing: biography@popcaanz.com

Business: Gjoko Muratovski: business@popcaanz.com

Comics, Manga and Anime: Paul Mountfort: comics@popcaanz.com

Creative Writing: Karen Simpson Nikakis: writing@popcaanz.com

Curating: Rebecca Bower: curating@popcaanz.com

Cyber Culture: John Lenarcic: cyber@popcaanz.com

Design: Gjoko Muratovski: design@popcaanz.com

Disability: Kimberley McMahon-Coleman: disability@popcaanz.com

Entertainment: Tanya Nitins: entertainment@popcaanz.com

Fandom: Katherine Larsen: fandom@popcaanz.com

Fashion: Vicki Karaminas: fashion@popcaanz.com

Fiction: Rachel Franks: fiction@popcaanz.com

Film: Bruce Isaacs: film@popcaanz.com

Food Studies: Jill Adams food@popcaanz.com

Gender and : Anita Brady: gender@popcaanz.com

Girlhood Studies: Juliette Peers: girlhood@popcaanz.com

Gothic and Horror: Lorna Piatti-Farnell: gothic@popcaanz.com

History: Hsu-Ming Teo: history@popcaanz.com

Law: Jason Bainbridge: law@popcaanz.com

Music: Ed Montano: music@popcaanz.com

Pedagogy: Ruth Walker: pedagogy@popcaanz.com

Popular Romance: Jody McAlister: popularomance@popcaanz.com

Performance: Sue Osmond: performance@popcaanz.com

Radio and Audio Media: Martin Hadlow: radio@popcaanz.com

Religion: Holly Randell-Moon: religion@popcaanz.com

Science: Steven Gil: science@popcaanz.com

Sound, Voices and the Everyday: Norie Neumark: voices@popcaanz.com

Sports: Paul Mountfort sports@popcaanz.com

Television: Rosser Johnson: tv@popcaanz.com

Textiles: Denise Rall: textiles@popcaanz.com

Toys and Games: Jason Bainbridge: toys@popcaanz.com

Visual Arts: Adam Geczy: visualarts@popcaanz.com

If you have a proposal for a new panel area for PopCAANZ or an associated query please contact Paul Mountfort vicepresident@popcaanz.com

www.popcaanz.com

 

Download the PopCAANZ 2015 extended call for papers PDF here